My top 8 favorite Vacation Pictures from the last three years!

Warning: I am not a photographer. I don’t own a camera so everything on here was taken with my phone but I hope I have a good eye from time to time. I’ve been a very lucky person in that I’ve gotten to travel a lot thanks to two parents with hearts of gypsies. An old quote says ““Travel is the only thing you buy that makes you richer” and I have to agree that I’ve never had buyer’s remorse on anywhere I’ve ever gone. At 41 years of age, I’ve been to 49 of the 50 states (Hawaii is the answer to the question). I’ve been to 10 countries and spent hours traveling across the country while rolling around the back of a station wagon with my Walk-man playing long before car seats and DVD players.

All this being said, the last three years took me on three vacations and I wanted to share my top 8 favorite vacation pictures. I haven’t included the ones that focus on me and my family members because that’s not what most people care to see. I hope you find these pictures as lovely as I did.

# 8: Grand Prismatic Springs, Yellowstone National Park, WY2015-06-26-15-42-51

This is a pretty common photo from anyone who visits the park, but I love the colors of Grand Prismatic Springs.

#7: Australian Wheat Mouse, Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History, Washington D.C.2014-05-21-14-43-53

My sister and I are both suckers for teeny animals. (We call them squees!) This Australian Wheat Mouse made me happy.

#6: Double Arch, Arches National Park, Utah

photo-sep-06-4-32-30-pm

I remember going to Arches National Park as a kid and finding it hot, dry and filled with the possibility of snakes, but decided to give it another chance 30 years later and am so happy that I did. At a time in my life when I had a ton of internal turmoil, the size and grandiosity of this place made me and my problems feel small. I fell in love and for just a moment forgot about my little issues as I thought about the big question of where I fit into this vast world.

#5: Wild horses, Teddy Roosevelt National Park, North Dakota

2015-06-22-11-55-55

My sister’s favorite president is Teddy Roosevelt and I definitely give the guy his props for his conservation policies (despite being an avid hunter). I love Abraham Lincoln myself but couldn’t deny the beauty of this small park that few people ever see. As we drove through the park, we found the herd of wild horses right along the road. I couldn’t help but take their picture as the wind blew their manes.

#4: Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad Train, Durango, CO

photo-sep-08-3-30-46-pm

On a day as beautiful as the one we had when taking the train from Durango to Silverton (and back again), it was almost impossible to take a bad picture. The scenery was stunning but I liked the contrast of colors and how crisp the river looked.

#3: Lincoln Memorial, Washington D.C.

2014-05-21-20-15-16

First and foremost, don’t judge me on my terrible nail polish job. 🙂 As I said before, Lincoln is my personal hero. I know he wasn’t perfect but the amount of intellect and strength it took to get this country through one of its most trying times earns Lincoln big respect in my book. I love this picture because it made me feel how important this man truly was that his memorial was on the back of our most common coin with, of course, his face on the other side.

#2: Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello Garden, Virginia

2014-05-20-15-45-20-1

Thomas Jefferson has always been someone I’ve been conflicted by. In so many ways, he was so brilliant and yet he kept slaves and back stabbed his friends and lost all his family money on his manic ideas. However, there was truly no denying the beauty of Monticello. It feels like the random thoughts of a genius. There was something humbling about being in a place where Jefferson stood and looked out over the Virginia countryside. The comfort and contrast of his garden made me feel like I had stepped into the world of Beatrix Potter and Peter Rabbit and yet also conflicted at the amount of jealousy I held knowing that my garden back home looked NOTHING like that. 🙂

#1: Boy skipping rocks on Lake McDonald, Glacier National Park, MT

2015-06-23-19-12-49

Okay, I know I might be cheating because the boy in this picture is my nephew, but it could have been any kid and I wouldn’t have been able to stop myself from taking this picture. Something about the silhouette of this child throwing a stone with the sun through the clouds on a glacial lake just grabbed me. This is probably my favorite picture I’ve ever taken and admittedly is framed, hanging in my nephew’s room. I love it and hope you do too.

Thank you for checking out my blog about travel. It’s a bit of a change from my jewelry, but I was thinking about selling some of my pictures in my Etsy store as well.  I would love your feedback.

And as always, I shall leave you with some humor: Did you know the tan gained its popularity during the Bronze age?

 

 

7 thoughts on “My top 8 favorite Vacation Pictures from the last three years!

Leave a Reply

