A tip for the uninspired jewelry maker

Hi all.  Sorry I’ve been remiss about creating a new blog for awhile, but I’ve been down with pneumonia. This is definitely not the time of year for it. Thanks to 2 days in bed, I still have a ton of people to buy Christmas presents for, but was able to spend some time creating. In the past 5 days, I’ve created 14 new necklaces, but there was a trick to all this creativity and I’ll share it now.

While I was at my niece’s cookie party, I took my bag of bazillion beads out of my car (with my niece’s permission of course. You don’t want to steal the spotlight away from an 11 year old girl without asking.) I plopped down the beads in front of a college student and a high school student who were in attendance and announced that I was stuck. I had the jewelry equivalent of writer’s block. They immediately went to work opening all the containers filled with beads and jewelry components and in no time at all, had created combinations that I hadn’t even thought about. These are all available on my Etsy account here. See the pictures below:

After that, I was inspired again! I started putting together color combinations I hadn’t considered before and trying things that hadn’t occurred to me so I spent the rest of the weekend creating even more.

And then came (what I think is) pneumonia. Coughing, sore throat, a 3 ton elephant sitting on my chest but I found that sitting up felt better than laying down and being productive without being energetic made me feel less miserable. I created 5 more necklaces from my sick bed. Don’t worry. I didn’t cough on them.

But my experience with the teenagers struck me as a great opportunity. Whenever I am feeling uninspired, I will consider looking for a muse. I figure $20 would buy me 2 hours of an artistic college student’s time. I will put out an ad at a local university for an art student who would like to earn enough money to buy a meal better than just Ramen noodles!

My other inspiration came from my need for more Twitter followers. I don’t have a marketing budget so I rely on the kindness of Tweeters and other social media venues. I decided when I get to 1000 followers on Twitter, I’ll have someone give me a random number between 1-1000 and that numbered Tweeter will get a free necklace. I advertised this on my Twitter page and generated retweets and new followers galore! If you want your chance at a free necklace, follow me here: https://twitter.com/PricesPretties/status/811778348678598656.

As always, I shall end with a bit of humor appropriate for both this blog and time of year. This is a quote from It’s a Wonderful Life: “Youth is wasted on the wrong people.”

If I don’t talk to you before then, have a VERY Merry Christmas!
elf-clipart-christmas-santa-elf-clip-art-3-3751845

Leave a Reply

